Our Vision

A responsible and environmentally friendly handling of plastic is one of the most pressing global challenges of our time. We want a world in which technological progress serves the preservation of natural resources rather than endangering them.

We, the Röchling Foundation, are convinced that the protection of our environment can only be achieved through the joint commitment of civil society, business, science and politics.

That is why we connect researchers, activists and entrepreneurs to promote their cooperation. Our vision is to create and fund cooperation.

Journal

Our Cooperations & Partners

It is obvious that complex, global problems such as those in the field of plastic and environment cannot be solved with individual activities. It is only when education for sustainable development, scientific research for new material cycles, activities to repair already occurred damage and far-sighted political action complement and reinforce each other, that effective solutions can be found.

The Röchling Foundation invests in the four fields of action mentioned above. The dissemination and consolidation of successful solutions is more important to us than new model projects.

Please click on an element to find out more:

Eco-label for Plastic, TU Chemnitz

/en/eco-label-tu-chemnitz

In a two-year research project, the Technical University of Chemnitz is developing a method for the certification of plastic sliding chains as found in conveyor systems. The aim is a kind of “eco-label” for such plastic components, considering their entire life cycle.

Upcycling Plastics, Fraunhofer

/en/upcycling-plastics-fraunhofer/

In a joint venture with Fraunhofer, the Röchling Foundation is launching an initiative aimed at intensifying research into sustainable concepts for the upcycling of plastics.

Research against Plastic Waste, Dr. Bertocchini

/en/larvae-against-plastic-waste/

Dr. Federica Bertocchini, biologist and hobby beekeeper had observed that the wax moth larvae easily and residue-free ate through plastic bags. As a scientist, she got to the bottom of the matter and found out that the larvae are apparently able to metabolize certain plastics. Is this a chance for the biological degradation of plastic waste?

GAME, GEOMAR Center for Ocean Research

/en/game-geomar-ocean-research/

Micro plastic has completely covered the food chain. It is unclear what influence the tiny plastic particles have on the receiving organisms. The work of young researchers at the Center for Ocean Research in Kiel, Germany on mussels may provide valuable information on this.

Project Ocean Clean Up - SeeKuh, One Earth - One Ocean

/en/seekuh-one-earth-one-ocean-en/

One Earth – One Ocean’s prior goal is to free the world’s oceans of plastic waste. Therefore, they built the catamaran SeeKuh which is used as a maritime garbage disposal and fishes out plastic parts floating on the surface of the water.

SeeElefant mit Seekühen

SeeElefant, One Earth - One Ocean

/en/seeelefant-maritime-garbage-disposal/

In continuance to the SeeKuh, currently the SeeElefant ist being designed. One Earth – One Ocean is longing to implement a maritime recycling concept. Whatever plastic is being fished from the surface of the water by the fleet of the garbage collection ships as well as other maritime waste pickers, is supposed to be separated and prepared for the recycling process on the SeeElefant. Challenging but yet achievable – that is the verdict of a team of experts after a close analysis.

Maharashtra Project, SOCEO gGmbH

/en/plastic-recycling-mumbai-india/

The Maharashtra project is set to establish a functioning infrastructure with local collection and sorting stations as well as transport facilities in Mumbai in order to create awareness and structure as well as to combat the ever-worsening waste situation.

Waste Management Systems in Sundarbans (India), SOCEO gGmbH and SUN

/en/plastic-recycling-mumbai-india/

The pilot project in the Sundarbans is combating plastic waste pollution in India and it is a win-win: through systematic collection, sorting and recycling of plastic waste, not only the environment is to be protected, but also the lives of the waste collectors involved are to be improved.

Polyproblem: Der Stakeholder-Dialog zu Kunststoff und Umwelt der Röchling Stiftung und Wider Sense, Bilder: Jörg Farys

Polyproblem: The Stakeholder Dialogue

/en/polyproblem-stakeholder-dialogue/

Joining forces. Developing solutions together vs. launching individual projects. Combining the possibilities of business, science and civil society. These are the strongholds of the general idea of the Collective Impact concept. Guided by these pillars, around 150 experts met in Berlin.

Joining forces

/en/community-gemeinsam-mehr-erreichen/

The challenges and obstacles surrounding the topic of plastic and the environment are far too complex and multi-layered to be solved by individual, isolated projects. The Röchling Foundation therefore wants so serve as a platform for cooperation and as an enabler of joint initiatives.

Learn more about our work.

A Project for Schools: Plastic Cycles, Stiftung Bildung

/en/project-for-schools/

The German foundation for education Stiftung Bildung and the Röchling Foundation launched a program to encourage students in elementary schools throughout Germany to engage creatively within the topic of plastic and the environment.

The Act on Plastic Challenge

/en/act-on-plastic-its-on/

In a joint initiative, Soulbottles, Project Together and the Röchling Foundation are searching for startups and young initiatives with promising ideas and solutions for less plastic waste in nature. The participants are to receive a wide range of support in the further development of their solution.

The Foundation

The Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees of the Röchling Foundation determines the focus of the Foundation’s work, conceives the strategy and decides on projects and collaborations.

Annunziata Gräfin Hoensbroech
Annunziata Gräfin HoensbroechChairman of the Board of Trustees
Felicitas von Hülsen
Felicitas von Hülsen
Bernd Bäzner
Bernd Bäzner
Amélie Hauch
Amélie Hauch
Ludger Bartels
Ludger Bartels
Dr. David Stather
Dr. David Stather

The Shareholders

The Röchling-Stiftung GmbH is represented by three shareholders who act in place of the entire entrepreneurial family. The shareholders serve as trustees for the foundation’s purpose and therefore do not hold their shares for their own benefit. In addition, the shareholders determine the annual financial framework for the foundation’s activities.

Dr. Dr. Sabine Thürmel
Dr. Dr. Sabine ThürmelChairman of the Shareholders
Ggf. Beschreibungstext
Friederike Werner
Friederike Werner
Ggf. Beschreibungstext
Dr. David Haenggi-Bally
Dr. David Haenggi-Bally
Ggf. Beschreibungstext

The Team

Management and team are responsible for the conceptual and operative work of the foundation. A close, trusting and measurable cooperation with all partners from civil society, research, business and politics is paramount for the daily work of the Röchling Foundation team office.

Dr. Jobst-Friedrich von Unger
Dr. Jobst-Friedrich von UngerManaging Director
Uwe Amrhein
Uwe AmrheinFoundation Manager
Sarah Güth
Sarah GüthJunior Foundation Manager

History

We like plastic and hate plastic waste. Is that a paradox? No, quite the opposite.

The Röchling Foundation was founded in 1990 by the Röchling family. In almost 200 years, the same family has transformed a coal business into a leading global group of companies for innovative products made of high-performance plastic. The Röchlings therefore know where plastic belongs – and where it doesn’t.

Social responsibility has always shaped the history of the family and the company. The entrepreneurial family built up factory kindergartens and schools, milk kitchens, training opportunities, a pension fund and affordable housing even before Bismarck’s social legislation came into force.

The challenges have changed. The responsibility remains.

Wir benutzen Cookies und Google Analytics, um die Nutzerfreundlichkeit der Webseite zu verbessen. Durch Ihren Besuch stimmen Sie dem zu. // We use cookies and Google Analytics to improve the website's usability. If you continue, you consent to this.

ZIEL UND WEG

Ein verantwortungsvoller und umweltschonender Umgang mit Kunststoff gehört zu den drängenden, globalen Herausforderungen unserer Zeit. Wir wünschen uns eine Welt, in der technologischer Fortschritt dem Erhalt natürlicher Lebensgrundlagen dient, anstatt ihn zu gefährden.

Wir sind davon überzeugt, dass der Schutz unserer Umwelt nur im gemeinsamen Engagement der Zivilgesellschaft, der Wirtschaft, der Wissenschaft und der Politik gelingt.

Deshalb verbinden wir Forscher, Aktivisten und Unternehmer miteinander und fördern ihre Zusammenarbeit. Wir stiften Kooperationen.

Magazin

Unsere Kooperationen

Es liegt es auf der Hand: Komplexe, globale Probleme wie jene im Themenfeld „Kunststoff und Umwelt“ sind mit Einzelaktivitäten nicht zu lösen. Erst wenn Bildung für nachhaltige Entwicklung, wissenschaftliche Forschung für neue Stoffkreisläufe, Aktivitäten zur Beseitigung bereits entstandener Schäden und weitsichtiges politisches Handeln einander ergänzen und sich wechselseitig verstärken, entstehen wirksame Lösungen.

Die Röchling Stiftung investiert in die vier genannten Handlungsfelder. Die Verbreitung und Verstetigung erfolgreicher Lösungen ist uns dabei wichtiger als neue Modellvorhaben.

Bitte klicken Sie ein Element an, um mehr zu erfahren.

Öko-Siegel für Kunststoffe, TU Chemnitz

/forschungsprojekt-tu-chemnitz/

Die Technische Universität Chemnitz entwickelt in einem zweijährigen Forschungsprojekt eine Methode zur Zertifizierung von Gleitketten aus Kunststoff wie sie in Förderanlagen zu finden sind. Ziel ist eine Art „Öko-Siegel“ für solche Kunststoff-Bauteile unter Berücksichtigung des gesamten Lebenszyklus.

Kunststoff-Upcycling, Fraunhofer

/kunststoffkreislaeufe_fraunhofer_roechlingstiftung/

Gemeinsam mit Fraunhofer startet die Röchling Stiftung eine Initiative mit dem Ziel, die Forschung an nachhaltigen Konzepten zum Upcycling von Kunststoffen zu intensivieren.

Forschung gegen Plastikmüll, Dr. Bertocchini

/larve-gegen-plastikmuell-bertocchini/

Die Biologin Dr. Federica Bertocchini hatte als Hobby-Imkerin beobachtet, dass die Wachsmottenlarve sich mühe- und vor allem rückstandslos durch Plastiktüten fraß. Als Wissenschaftlerin ging sie der Sache auf den Grund und fand heraus, dass die Larve offenbar tatsächlich bestimmte Kunststoffe verstoffwechseln kann. Eine Chance zum biologischen Abbau von Plastikabfällen?

GAME, GEOMAR Helmholtz-Zentrum für Ozeanforschung

/game-geomar-ozeanforschung/

Mikroplastik hat die Nahrungskette vollständig erfasst. Unklar ist, welchen Einfluss die winzigen Kunststoffpartikel auf die aufnehmenden Organismen tatsächlich haben. Dazu soll die Arbeit von Nachwuchsforscher am Kieler Institut an den Miesmuscheln wertvolle Hinweise liefern.

SeeKuh, One Earth - One Ocean

/seekuh-one-earth-one-ocean/

Mit dem Ziel, die Weltmeere von Plastikmüll zu befreien, hat One Earth – One Ocean den Katamaran „SeeKuh“ gebaut. Er wird als „maritime Müllabfuhr“ eingesetzt und fischt an der Wasseroberfläche treibende Kunststoffteile heraus.

SeeElefant, One Earth - One Ocean

/seeelefant-one-earth-one-ocean/

Nach der SeeKuh geht es weiter: Mit dem SeeElefanten möchte OEOO ein Wiederverwertungskonzept auf See umsetzen. Der von den SeeKühen, Fischern und anderen maritimen Müllsammlern geborgene Plastikmüll soll auf dem SeeElefanten verölt und zu Treibstoff verarbeitet werden, mit dem dann andere Schiffe betankt werden können.

Maharashtra-Projekt, Soceo gGmbH

/kunststoffrecycling-mumbai-indien/

Zur Bewusstsein- und Strukturschaffung sowie gegen die immer schlimmer werdende Vermüllung werden im Rahmen des Maharashtra-Projekts eine funktionierende Infrastruktur mit lokalen Sammel- und Sortierstationen sowie Transportmöglichkeiten in Mumbai errichtet.

Abfallmanagementsysteme in den Sundarbans (Indien), SOCEO gGmbH und SUN

pilot-projektes-gegen-kunststoffmüllverschmutzung-sundarbans-indien

Das Pilot-Projekt in den Sundarbans kämpft gegen die Kunststoffmüllverschmutzung in Indien an: durch systematische Einsammlung, Sortierung und Wiederverwertung des Kunststoffmülls soll nicht nur die Umwelt geschützt, sondern auch das Leben der beteiligten Müllsammler verbessert werden.

Gemeinsam mehr erreichen

/community-gemeinsam-mehr-erreichen/

Die Herausforderungen rund um Kunststoff und Umwelt sind viel zu komplex und vielschichtig als dass sie durch einzelne, voneinander isolierte Projekte zu lösen wären. Die Röchling Stiftung versteht sich daher als Kooperationsplattform. Erfahren Sie mehr über unsere Arbeit.

Schulprojekt Kunststoffkreislauf, Stiftung Bildung

/aktionsprogramm-an-grundschulen-kreislauf-fuer-kunststoff/

Die Stiftung Bildung und die Röchling Stiftung haben ein Programm aufgelegt, das Schülerinnen und Schüler an Grundschulen in ganz Deutschland dazu anregen soll, sich kreativ mit dem Thema Kunststoff und Umwelt auseinanderzusetzen.

Die Stiftung

Das Kuratorium

Das Kuratorium der Röchling Stiftung bestimmt die inhaltliche Ausrichtung der Stiftungsarbeit, konzipiert die Strategie und entscheidet über die Projekte und Kooperationen.

Annunziata Gräfin Hoensbroech
Annunziata Gräfin HoensbroechVorsitzende
Felicitas von Hülsen
Felicitas von Hülsen
Michael Röchling
Michael Röchling
Karin Röchling
Karin Röchling
Regina Michaelis-Braun
Regina Michaelis-Braun
Hermann Dopp
Hermann Dopp

Die Gesellschafter

Die Röchling-Stiftung GmbH hat drei Gesellschafter, die die gesamte Unternehmerfamilie repräsentieren. Sie halten ihre Geschäftsanteile an der Stiftung nicht zum eigenen Nutzen, sondern als Sachverwalter für die Erfüllung des Stiftungszwecks. Zudem legen sie den jährlichen finanziellen Rahmen für die Stiftungstätigkeit fest.

Dr. Dr. Sabine ThürmelVorsitzende
Ggf. Beschreibungstext
Friederike Werner
Ggf. Beschreibungstext
Dr. David Haenggi-Bally
Ggf. Beschreibungstext

Das Team

Geschäftsführung und Team sind verantwortlich für die konzeptionelle und operative Arbeit in den Kooperationen der Stiftung. Dabei steht eine enge, vertrauensvolle und an messbarer Wirkung orientierte Zusammenarbeit mit den Partnerinnen und Partnern aus Zivilgesellschaft, Forschung, Wirtschaft und Politik über allem.

Dr. Jobst-Friedrich von Unger
Dr. Jobst-Friedrich von UngerGeschäftsführer
Uwe Amrhein
Uwe AmrheinStiftungsmanager
Julia Bettina Eberhardt
Julia Bettina EberhardtStiftungsreferentin

GESCHICHTE

Wir mögen Kunststoff und hassen Plastikmüll. Paradox? Ganz im Gegenteil.

Die Röchling Stiftung wurde 1990 von der Unternehmerfamilie Röchling gegründet. Die gleiche Familie hat in fast 200 Jahren aus einer Kohlehandlung eine weltweit führende Unternehmensgruppe für innovative Produkte aus Hochleistungs-Kunststoffen aufgebaut. Die Röchlings wissen deshalb, wo Kunststoff hingehört – und wo nicht.

Gesellschaftliche Verantwortung prägt seit jeher die Familien- und Unternehmensgeschichte. Werkskindergärten und -schulen, Milchküchen, Ausbildungsmöglichkeiten, eine Pensionskasse und erschwinglichen Wohnraum baute die Unternehmerfamilie schon vor der Bismark’schen Sozialgesetzgebung auf.

Die Herausforderungen haben sich geändert. Die Verantwortung bleibt.

Wir benutzen Cookies und Google Analytics, um die Nutzerfreundlichkeit der Webseite zu verbessen. Durch Ihren Besuch stimmen Sie dem zu. // We use cookies and Google Analytics to improve the website's usability. If you continue, you consent to this.